R&CC Fleet: Mixed messages, Maserati Bi-Turbos and the mystery rattle

Once again, I’ve struggled to keep you informed on the status of the Rover Mini Sprite. In fact, I’m not sure where we left off. The Mini is now being used as my daily to work, when I can afford the petrol, and I’m trying to recoup back the time from when I was at Uni to sort out the restoration side of things.  Oh, and the rattle!

Currently it is running well mechanically, the exhaust has had to be temporarily welded up (the finisher had come loose from the backbox), the sills, and sill covers are in the process of being purchased. Further to that, I’ve bought a new exhaust backbox with finisher and mid-pipe to replace the out-going rotting mid-pipe and temporary repair. Apparently the Sportex exhaust is meant to be quite a loud one! Also, it has gained a rattle which I can’t see to trace; one possibility is that’s the exhaust but the noise is located on the passenger side. All part of the Rover appeal I presume, but I’ll keep on investigating. Answer is probably on a deteriorating postcard.

Since the end of the May, I’ve taken the Mini to the Annual Charity Car Show at the Abbots Barton Hotel in Canterbury, Margate Harbour Arms Meet hosted by ‘Split-Lee’ from Thanet Classics, and the local Transport Museum. Much to my surprise there was a lot of interest in the Mini at the Harbour Arms Meet, this put a smile on my face, and somewhat made me proud. During that evening I caught up with one of my old school friend’s, who turned up in his father’s old Landie, and his mother was so excited to see the Mini she wanted to have a sit in the driver’s seat!

The Rover Mini Sprite at the Harbour Arms Meet

Having owned the Mini for over a year now, I’ve come to know its habits, its attitude and its love, or should I say dislike of rain. Some of you will note that initially I was taken with it, but as time has passed, I have showed a desire to own something more comfortable, possibly of a Rover or undesirable nature. This remains the case, and there has even mutterings of Maserati 430s and Bi-turbos. Not sure that’s a likely purchase yet, but it has all the hallmarks of a keeper.

A 1990s Maserati 430, a potential money pit and electrical nightmare. Appealing, honest. 

Currently hedging the bets is a Rover 45 or Rover 75. If you can better those ideas let me know. 

image credits: Lewis Dorsett and imagetaker

One response to “R&CC Fleet: Mixed messages, Maserati Bi-Turbos and the mystery rattle

  1. Well I’d happily recommend the 75 despite my own experiences, but to come in from vaguely left-field, how about the Rover 200-series Coupe? Sticks with your preference to Rover, should be no more difficult than any other 200-series to fix and maintain, plus it has a bit of style about it. Not sure what insurance is like but can’t imagine it’s too high on non-VVC or non-turbo ones.

Leave a Reply

