Features: A story behind Simon Ford’s car spots

A few days ago I decided to get in touch with fellow Retro and Classic Cars fan Simon Ford. As some of you may already know he has a bit of a habit of posting away cars he finds in the UK.  So I kindly asked him if he could go about explaining as to what cars take his fancies. I’ll let Simon take it from here….

 

When Retro and Classic Cars, demigod and over-lord, Charlie Johnson, asked me to write a piece for him I was over the moon but I had to play it cool. I leaped at the chance of bragging that I wasn’t a professional writer that suffered from dyslexia, and didn’t have a subject to write about. It all started when he said, “that’s okay but if you want a subject you could always write about your car snaps.” This was followed be me agreeing with ‘ok great sounds fantastic.”

So where do I start? Well I first started taking pictures of cars in 1991 at the London Motor show and since then I’ve been a massive petrol head but not taken any snaps since that time, until I joined twitter a few months ago. When I took a picture of a certain car and won two tickets to the World Cup in a competition.

Why take snaps of cars? What is the motivation and inspiration behind them, as taking car pictures is easy, isn’t?

Porsche 911 (997) C4S

Well the answer is no! The first thing, you have to consider is what type of car to photograph, and would anyone else want to see it. So onto my method…

I try to think of as many rare cars of possible, and this is where having a genuine interest of all things car related comes in very handy. I tend to look at cars that didn’t sell well, top of the range cars, the limited edition models, cars that are no longer in production and even the weird and wonderful. When I’m out doing the school run and out and about and even shopping I’m always on the lookout for cars to take pictures of.

Even my wife is getting used to me going shopping with her and stepping out of the car then saying, “you go get a trolley and I’ll catch up in a moment” then I scan the area for something cool or weird or rare to photograph. I even take photos of cars out of curiosity if I don’t know a great deal about them, but it’s what I do with the pictures afterward.

I usually stick them onto twitter for people to see and I’m usually happy if I get ten or twenty people look at them. This means that someone else in the twitter space that either follows me or I follow is also interested in seeing what I have been fortunate or unfortunate to photograph.

If I get a good picture or one that I think appeals to someone then I add their name before I share it. Depending upon the photo I share, it sometimes it gets comments or re-tweeted on and that to me is brilliant as more and more people get to see the photos I’ve taken. One such photo I have taken appeal to is two types of market, the first is the American car market and the second is the Elvis market. When I tweet it to Chrysler autos they re-tweet it for me to show other fans of Chrysler cars and the Mighty Elvis.

The Morris Minor Traveller used to be a common sight in the UK.

Chrysler PT Cruiser meets Elvis

To me that means a lot, as the general public have seen a photo that doesn’t look in anyway professional and taken with a camera phone. When I’ve driven by in my car at a moments notice and spotted something unusual that may well be appreciated.

An early Maserati Quattroporte 4.2l V8

If you want to see more of these obscure, and unusual spots give Simon Ford a follow:  http://twitter.com/sf4d74

 

When Retro and Classic Cars, demigod and over-lord, Charlie Johnson, asked me to write a piece for him I was over the moon but I had to play it cool. I leaped at the chance of bragging that I wasn’t a professional writer that suffered from dyslexia, and didn’t have a subject to write about. It all started when he said, “that’s okay but if you want a subject you could always write about your car snaps.” This was followed be me agreeing with ‘ok great sounds fantastic.”

 

So where do I start? ,…. Well iI first started taking pictures of cars in 1991 at the londonLondon Motor show ,,,,,and since then I’ive been a massive petrol head,,,buthead but not taken any snaps since that time, ..untill iI joined twitter a few months ago…whenago. When iI took a picture of a certain car and won two2 tickets to the Wworld Ccup in a competition.

Why take snaps of cars? and Wwhat is the motivation and inspiration behind them,,asthem, as taking car pictures is easy, isn’t,ISN’T IT?,

Well the answer is noNO-!!! The first thing,youthing, you have to consider is what type of car to photograph,andphotograph, and would anyone else want to see it.soit. So here,s what i do…onto my method

I try to think of as many rare cars of possible,,andpossible, and this is where having a genuine.general interest of all things car related comes in very very handy. I tend to look at cars that didntdidn’t sell well,,topwell, top of the range cars,,, the limited edition models, cars that are no longer availablein production and even the weird and wonderfullwonderful.…then Wwhen I’mim out doing the school run,, and out and about and even shopping I’m always on the lookout for cars to take pics pictures of.f,,,

Even my wife is getting used to me going shopping with her.. and stepping out of the car then saying, “you go get a trolley and i’llI’ll catch up in a moment” then iI scan the area for something cool/ or weird or rare to photograph..sometimesphotograph. iI even take photos of cars for being out of curiosity… ifcuriosity if iI dontdon’t know to a great deal much about them,,,butthem, but it;sit’s what iI do with the picspictures afterward.

I usually stick them onto twitter for people to see,, andsee and i’mI’m usually happy if iI get 10ten or twenty 20 people look at them. This means that someone else in in the twitter space that either follows me or iI follow is also interested in seeing what iI have been fortunate or /unfortunate to photograph.

but Iif iI get a good picture or one that iI think appeals to someone.thensomeone then iI add their name before iI sendshare it. .and if Depending upon the photo I share,they like it sometimes it it gets comments or re-tweeted on…andon and that to me is brilliant as more and more people get to see the photos I’ive taken.


One such photo I have taken appeal to is two types of market, the first is the American car market and the second is the Elvis market. When I tweet it to Chrysler autos they re-tweet it for me to show other fans of Chrysler cars and the Mighty Elvis.

To me that means a lot, as the general public have seen a photo that doesn’t look in anyway professional and taken with a camera phone. When I’ve driven by in my car at a moments notice and spotted something unusual that may well be appreciated.

Leave a Reply

